Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 4 Next »

flexVDI Manager is a guest that runs on the fleXVDI infrastructure. It is not updated/installed with yum as the other components of the flexVDI infrastructure.

In order to update the flexVDI Manager, log in one of your flexVDI Hosts. 

  • Execute "flexvdi-config" in a host (the Host must have access to the path where the Manager is stored, which usually means you can do it on any Host). A menu will be shown in the screen.
  • Select the menu entry called "Manager".
  • You should make a backup of the Manager before upgrading. To do so, select the menu entry "Backup".
  • Once the backup has been done, use the menu entry "Upgrade" .
  • It will ask for the flexVDI Manager password. Type it and press enter.
  • Select "Portal" to download the new Manager image from flexVDI portal (or local, if you have already downloaded it and copied it to the host).
  • Then select the product (flexvDI Manager 3.0), y release (the latest 3.0.x). It will automatically download the new version. This may take some minutes.
  • Finally, the program will ask for confirmation. Then it will automatically stop the manager, replace it with the new version, and start it again. This usually takes about 5 minutes.

During the installation, flexVDI Manager will be stopped for about 5 minutes. When it is stopped:

  • guest machines will keep running, and connected users can continue their work normally.
  • users can start new connextion to their desktops.
  • flexVDI Dashboard will be disconnected, as it needs a connection to the manager, which is stopped for some time. When flexVDI manager is started again, it will take 2 or 3 minutes until it receives all the information from the platform and will show some elements as "unknown state". Don worry. It is normal.

After the upgrade, you can open flexVDI Dashboard, and click on flexVDI Manager. In the right side of the window, you will see the currently installed version, to check that the new version is installed and running..

  • No labels